Securely deleting files with shred
Review of shred.
"Deleting a file with the rm command merely adds a file's data blocks back to the system's free list. A file can be restored easily if its "freed" blocks have not been used again. shred repeatedly overwrites a file's space on the hard disk with random data, so even if a data recovery tool finds your file, it will be unreadable. By default, shred does not delete a file, but you can use the -u or --remove switch to delete it." Linux.com | CLI Magic: Securely deleting files with shred
(Submitted by Noel Wed Mar 8, 2006 )
Our content can be syndicated: Main page Mac Page
Copyright 1999-2005 Noel Davis. Noel also runs web sites about sailing and kayaking.
All trademarks are the property of their owners.
All articles are owned by their author